On Site SEO and Food

screen-shot-2017-02-15-at-12-54-38-am
On-site SEO

Today’s blog post is about SEO (search engine optimization), this is the process of maximizing the number of visitors to your certain webpage by ensuring the site appears high on the list of results returned by a search engine. To create optimal keyword targeting there are a few things to consider including; relevance, traffic, competition, and if you’re and existing website, your current ranking. To show how to increase SEO I am going to conduct an analysis of my first blog post on food and see what I could have done better. This assignment is for my digital marketing class taught by Dr. Pepe. To learn more about Dr. Pepe please check his amazing blog.

Now the first thing that helps with successful SEO is relevance, which has to do with content. With a full website each individual page within needs its own targeted keyword(s) in order to be successful. For example a key word to a home page to a Women’s shoe site wouldn’t just be “boots” because there are a larger variety of shoes. If the website has a specific category for boots, that category webpage is where you would want to put the keyword “boots”. You also want your keyword(s) to be 3-5% of your content. My keyword was food, which came up 5 times on my blog post out of 441 words, this brings me to about 1%, the next keyword was blog, which came up 1 time , 0.2%, and finally Yang’s, which came up 8 times, 1.8%. Overall based strictly on content, this needs to be improved. Mentioning my three keywords more would have given me more relevance and a better chance of being higher on the list of results for food, Yang’s, and blog.

The next thing to mention is traffic, which involves clicking on your website after a certain word is searched. Keyword Planner on google is a tool that will help in picking what keywords to pick. Unless you are a big time website, keywords like “food”, “blog”, “Yang’s”, are popular and are hard to show up on the front page of results. These popular words are called fat head words, according to the long tail theory. The more popular keywords that are picked show the biggest competition, and are harder for websites to appear on the first list of results. Major website such as Amazon, Nike, etc. have most fat head words on lock. Being a smaller website long tail words are more likely to work, although they aren’t as popular searched they give you a better chance of ranking higher. Google keyword planner helps create keywords for you and show how much competition you have with those searched words. When typing in my first blog post website I got a list of keyword phrases. The top five are:

  1. Restaurant coupons- High competition
  2. Restaurant deals- Medium competition
  3. Restaurant offers- Medium competition
  4. Coupons for restaurants- High competition
  5. Restaurant deals near me- Medium competition

Since my blog is just starting out and relatively small, I would rather pick a keyword phrase that has low competition. Scrolling down the list “Lunch specials near me” comes in at nine and is low competition which is more promising for my blog. Since my blog is new, ranking isn’t something I am worried about (for now).

To successfully use keyword(s) phrases being only in the content isn’t enough. You need to use them in specific areas such as URL, title tag, header, alt text and anchor text. Looking at my first blog we’ll use “food” for my keyword (although we know now that it wasn’t very helpful).

Unfortunately right off the bat my URL does not contain the word food in it.

screen-shot-2017-02-15-at-12-30-25-am
URL

 

My title tag did have the word food in it “Fabi’s Food” this is good.

screen-shot-2017-02-15-at-12-39-27-am
Title Tag

 

Unfortunately my header did not include “food” but only “Yang’s”

In my first post I also had no alt text, which isn’t good at all. The search engine doesn’t pick up images, but they do pick up what’s in the alt text. With no alt text the image has no relevance to the search.

Finally anchor text I did mention my first blog link earlier in this current blog using the word food! This could be the first thing I’ve done right when it comes to SEO.

Other things to improve on SEO are the following:

  1. Quality
  2. Click through rate
  3. Low bounce rate
  4. Fresh content
  5. Valuable content
  6. Grammar and spelling

Now as you can see I have a lot to improve on in my following posts and editing of previous ones. Don’t let your website suffer from these simple things you can fix today! To learn more about SEO you can view the following article that helped inform me.

 

Leave a Reply

